How to Disable Restricted Mode on iPhone Step by Step

  1. Published on Apr 13, 2022
  2. Updated on Apr 13, 2022
  3. No Comments

The Restrictions feature in iPhone devices limits access to apps, content, or downloads. If you don’t want your kids to have any unwanted exposure to inappropriate content, this can be helpful.

Apple requires you to enter a password to access and control this feature. Like all passwords, you should keep it to yourself.

Otherwise, anyone can manipulate the settings. If you no longer have any use for it, like if your child is responsible enough, you can opt to disable this feature.

But how do you disable restricted mode on your iPhone? In this article, we’ll show you several ways to do just that.

What is ‘Restricted Mode’ on iPhone

The Restricted Mode feature was first introduced on iOS 11 as Restrictions. Once iOS 12 came out, the Restrictions feature became a sub-feature of Screen Time. Since then, Restrictions has become a part of newer versions of iOS.

Not only does it limit access to certain apps but it also prevents downloads and purchases from the App Store.

To disable restricted mode in your iPhone, you just need to go to Screen Time in the Settings app.

Then, enter your password when prompted. But if you forgot your screen time password, here’s what you can try.

Disable Restricted Mode on iPhone Without Password

It’s always a pain when we forget our passwords, like for Screen Time. Fortunately, you can still disable Restricted Mode on your iPhone without a password by using the Unlockit screen time unlocker.

This software will easily bypass your phone’s Screen Time or Restrictions password without any data loss.

It is available for free for both Windows and macOS users. The best part is that it supports all iOS versions, including the latest iOS 15.

Here are the steps for downloading and using Unlockit to disable Restricted Mode on an iPhone:

Step 1. Download Unlockit and install it on your computer.

Step 2. Open the app and choose Remove Screen Time Passcode.

 Unlockit iPhone Screen Unlocker

Step 3. Connect your iPhone using a USB cable.

connect your device to your computer

Step 4. Click the Start button and Unlockit will start removing your phone’s screen time passcode right away. Make sure that your device is securely connected throughout the process.

Click the Start button

Once that is done, you will be able to access Screen Time without entering a passcode.

successfully removed the screen time passcode

Disable Restricted Mode on iPhone If You Have the Passcode

Disable Restricted Mode on iOS 11 and Below

You can directly turn off Restricted Mode on iOS 11 and below if you have your passcode.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap on General, then select Restrictions.
  3. Next, choose Disable Restrictions.

Disable Restricted Mode on iOS 11 and Below

You’ll be asked to enter your restrictions passcode. Once successful, your phone’s restrictions should now be deactivated.

Disable Restricted Mode on iOS 12 and Above

For iOS 12 and above, the Restrictions feature will be merged with the Screen Time feature.

Things will be slightly different, but here are the steps that you should follow to disable this feature using your existing passcode:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Scroll down and tap on Screen Time.
  3. If you would like to remove all restrictions, tap on Change Screen Time Passcode.
  4. To further deactivate the feature, select Turn Off Screen Time Passcode
  5. Finally, enter your current Screen Time passcode.

Turn Off Screen Time Passcode

Alternatively, you can choose to just disable Content and Privacy Restrictions. Meaning, that you won’t have to disable all features of Screen Time. Here's how to do this:

  1. Tap on Content and Privacy Restrictions.
  2. Then, tap on the switch next to the Content & Privacy Restrictions to turn it off.
  3. Input your Screen Time passcode to confirm.

disable Content and Privacy Restrictions

Final Thoughts

On the latest versions of the iOS, the Restricted Mode was added as a part of the Screen Time feature. This upgraded version also includes privacy restrictions.

Although this feature does a great job of protecting its users, it might be too suffocating for some.

But whether this feature benefits you or not, we hope that you were able to try disabling Restricted Mode on your iPhone for future reference.

J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young

Mako is a technical freelance writer with a passion for all things tech. Whether you're wondering about how to fix your iPhone or trying to get something to work in your settings, Mako is your go-to for professional help. He loves writing, testing solutions, and most of all, making sure his research is factually accurate.
View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.