How to Pause Location on Find My iPhone Using 4 Ways

by J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young Tips Published On Jan 14, 2022 Updated On Nov 10, 2022
Table of Content

There is no underestimating the usefulness of the Find My App on your iPhone. After all, it is probably the best way to keep track of your friends and family and them of you.

But sometimes, you just don't want others to know where you are.

In these instances, you may find yourself looking for the best way to keep your friends from finding out your actual location, at least temporarily.

In this guide, we will provide you with ways that you can do to pause the location on Find My iPhone.

Why to Pause Location on Find My iPhone

There are a lot of reasons why you would want to pause the location on the Find My App. The most common include the following:

  • The biggest reason is privacy. Perhaps you want to go somewhere or do something that you'd rather your friends or family didn't know about.
  • If you feel that others have misused the app to track your location even when they didn't need to, you can turn it off to prevent such instances.
  • Although it is pretty accurate, it is not uncommon for the Find My app to share your location with unknown individuals. In this case, turning it off may be a good idea.
  • You can also simply choose to stop sharing your location from time to time, making it necessary to learn how to pause location on the Find My App.

How to Pause Location on Find My iPhone

The following are some of the ways that you can pause the Location on the Find my App on your iPhone:

Turn on Airplane Mode on iPhone

Turning on Airplane mode on your iPhone is perhaps the easiest way to disable the location without others knowing.

This is because airplane mode will disable all connections making it difficult to track the location of the device.

With airplane mode enabled, your friends will only be able to see the last known location.

To enable Airplane mode on your device, swipe the home screen to access the Control Center. Find the airplane icon at tap on it.

But while this method may disable GPS and keep the Find My App from tracking you, it disables all connections.

This means that you will not be able to make calls, send or receive messages or even use cellular data.

And while you might still be able to use Wi-Fi even with Airplane Mode enabled, the Find My App will be able to track you as soon as you connect to a Wi-Fi network.

Turn on Airplane Mode on iPhone

Stop Sharing Location on Find My App

If you would like a more permanent way to pause the location on your Find My App, you can simply stop sharing Location with the app.

You can do this very easily from the device's Settings. Here's how:

  • Step 1: Open the Settings app on your iPhone and then tap on your name at the top.
  • Step 2: Tap on the "Find My" app.
  • Step 3: Then simply switch off "Share my Location."

Stop Sharing Location on Find My App

You can also remove members who have access to your location. To do that go to the "People" section and then select the members you'd like to remove before clicking on "Stop Sharing My Location."

Please note however that the steps above will hide your location from the members, but not from law enforcement. You will also not be able to see other's locations.

Using Another iOS Device to Change Location

You can also hide the location of your own device, by sharing the location of another iOS device instead.

This is possible because iOS devices can be linked to one another using the same Apple ID.

So, if you have another iPhone, iPad, or Apple Watch that is linked to your primary, you can share the location of this device instead.

This way your friends on Find My will see the location of the secondary device, while you remain free to go anywhere, you'd like with the primary device.

Here's how to do that:

  • Step 1: Open the Settings app on both devices.
  • Step 2: Tap on your name at the top.
  • Step 3: Tap on "Find My" and then select "Use this iPhone/iPad as My Location."

Use this iPhone/iPad as My Location

Best Way: Apply An iOS Location Changer to Hide Location on Find My

If you don't own a secondary device, there is a way that you can spoof your location on the primary device.

Spoofing the location is just a fancy way of saying "change" the GPS location of your device.

If this seems like a really hard thing to do right off the bat, it's because you may not be aware of tools in the market specifically designed to change the location on iOS devices.

But when you search for tools that you can use, you may come across some that require a jailbroken device.

If you would rather not jailbreak your iPhone just to hide your location, there is a tool that may accomplish this without needing to jailbreak the iPhone.

This location spoofing tool is MockGo and the following are the advantages of using it:

  • You don't need to jailbreak the device
  • It will allow you to set up a virtual location and route so you can simulate GPS movement
  • It will hide your actual location easily and more naturally
  • You can use it to change the GPS location on multiple devices at the same time
  • The spoofed location will remain active until you restart the device

MockGo is also a very simple tool that doesn't require a lot of technical knowledge to use. Here's how it works:

Step 1: Connect the iPhone to a computer with MockGo installed on it and then open MockGo. Click "Start" in the main window.

connect your iOS device to the computer

Step 2: To change the location of the connected device, click on the "Teleport" icon and then use the search box on the left to find the location you'd like to use.  

choose teleport mode

Step 3: Just type in the location and then click on the "Go" button. You can then use the map to further refine the location.

 search for a location

Step 4: A popup will appear indicating the coordinates of the location you have selected and the total distance.

Click "Move Here" to change the GPS location of your device to this new location. Your friends on Find My will see this new location.

click Move Here to teleport the GPS

location teleported

Wrap Up

The Find My App is a good way for friends to keep track of each other. But if you would like some of the things you do and the places you visit to remain private, you may want to pause the location on the Find My App from time to time. The methods above should be able to help you do that easily.

J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young

Mako is a technical freelance writer with a passion for all things tech. Whether you're wondering about how to fix your iPhone or trying to get something to work in your settings, Mako is your go-to for professional help. He loves writing, testing solutions, and most of all, making sure his research is factually accurate.

Learn more
Foneazy uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our privacy policy. OK