What Does "No network or phone off" Mean on Life360

by J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young Tips Published On Mar 11, 2022 Updated On Nov 10, 2022
Table of Content

Do you see the error message "no network or phone off" when you try to track someone on Life360?

As useful as the app can be in helping you track friends and love ones, there are certain steps that users can take to keep you from tracking them.

When then employ these methods, you may see the "no network or phone off" error appear every time you check on them.

Here, you will learn what does "No network or phone off" on Life360 mean and what you can do to fix this error.

What does "No network or phone off" mean on Life360?

 no network or phone off

There are several ways that someone can turn off their location on Life360 and there are several things you can look to determine if Life360 has been turned off or not.

When you open Life360 on your device, you will see a list of the people in your circle.

You should also see a battery percentage next to each name. If you don't, then the user has disabled the app.

If you see the "No network or phone off" status, they have turned off their device or they are out of range.

If you see the "Location Permissions Off" status, then they may have disabled the phone's GPS or they have denied the app GPS permissions.

But if you see the "Background Location Off" status next to their name, then it is likely that the device is in low power mode or they have adjusted their battery settings to save battery life.

You will not be able to track a device that is in low power mode.

Life360 will also notify if you turn off location services

You can disable Life360 is by turning off the location settings on your device. But Life360 will notify people in your circle.

For example, iPhone users can launch the Settings app and go to "Life360" and set the location to "Never."

turning off the location settings

Once this is turned off, the member's profile will show the message "No network or phone off," "Location permissions off" or "Location/GPS Turned off."

life360 location permissions off

You can also disable location sharing on the app itself, simply open Life360 and then tap on the "Settings" menu and choose "Location Sharing."

Then click on the button next to your name and profile picture and turn the sharing toggle off.

disable location sharing on the app

The "Location Sharing Paused" message appears next to the user name as soon as the sharing is turned off, and it is also visible to everyone in the circle.

life360 location sharing paused

How to fix the "No network or phone off" error

If you see the error "No network or phone off" or "location permissions/GPS off," you can try the following steps to fix it:

Step 1: Log out of the Life360 on your phone and log in to the same account on another device where the account has been used before.

Step 2: Open the Device's settings and scroll to find the Life360 app.

Step 3: On Android: tap "Permissions" and enable location.

On iOS devices, tap "Location" and choose "Always" in the "Allow Location Access" section.

Step 4: Log out of Life360 on the device you don't wish to use anymore and log back in on the primary device.

Tired of being tracked by Life360?

The best way to prevent someone in your circle from tracking you using Life360 is to spoof the location of your device.

And one of the best tools you can use to fake the GPS on iPhone is MockGo iOS location changer.

This is a simple location spoofing tool that will allow you to change the location on your device and even simulate movement along a specified GPS route.

To use MockGo to fake your location on iOS, follow these simple steps:

Step 1: Download and install the program on to your computer. Once installation is complete, open the program.

Step 2: Connect your iPhone to the computer and then click "Start."

connect your iOS device to the computer

Step 3: On the next screen, click on the first icon on the top right corner.

choose teleport mode

Step 4: To change the location on Life360,. Enter the new location that you would like to use from the search bar and click "Go."

 search for a location

Step 5: A popup will appear indicating the distance to the new location. Click "Move Here" and the location on your iOS device will change immediately, teleporting your device to the new location.

click Move Here to teleport the GPS

location teleported

Wrap Up

While the "no network or phone off" error can indicate that someone doesn't want to be tracked, it can also be a simple error in the settings of the app. It is our hope that you are now able to determine which it is.

J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young

Mako is a technical freelance writer with a passion for all things tech. Whether you're wondering about how to fix your iPhone or trying to get something to work in your settings, Mako is your go-to for professional help. He loves writing, testing solutions, and most of all, making sure his research is factually accurate.

Learn more
Foneazy uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our privacy policy. OK