When you see "Location Permissions Off" for any of your circle's members in Life360, does it mean that you will no longer be able to track that person?
How users can hide or change their location when using Life360 is a complicated issue and sometimes you don't know what any of these notifications mean.
Here, we will show you this particular notification to help you determine what it means and how it affects the function of the Life360 app.
The 'Location permissions off' status on Life360 indicates that the users have either disabled the device's location services completely or have turned off Life360 GPS permissions.
If users turn off location services on your device completely, the "Location permissions off" will be shown in Life360 and it will also prevent all other apps that use GPS from functioning properly.
This is how users turn off location services on iPhone devices:
Life360 will request location permission during installation. If the permission is not granted, Life360 couldn't function correctly.
If uses have chosen to never allow Life360 to use location services, the status "Location permissions off" will be displayed next to their names.
The following are the options you have when granting access to Life360:
Never: Choosing this option denies the app the permissions that it requests. This means that the app may not function as it is designed to.
Ask Next Time: This is the best option to choose if you are unsure of whether you want to grant the app full access or not. It allows you to choose to grant it access to your location every time you open the app.
While Using the App: f an app is set to While Using the App, your status bar may turn blue with a message indicating that an app is actively using your location.
Always: When you tap "Always" you grant the app all the access it requests. It will also allow the app to access your location even when it is in the background.
If the user disables Location Sharing within Life360, the message "Location Sharing Paused" appears next to the user's name.
This is how to do it:
If a user disables precise Location from the Privacy settings, the "Precise Location Off" status will appear next to the user's name.
Here's how to do it:
It is worth pointing out that Life360 doesn't have a button that will turn off all features.
If you want to turn off the features in Life360, then you will have to do so individually.
You can also do so, by logging out of the app, but logging out will still show your last recorded location.
There is therefore no way to prevent a circle member from turning off one or all tracking members even if you are the admin.
The decision to share their location is completely in their hands because of the controversy that surrounds location sharing and privacy.
Location sharing whether with Life360 or any other similar app is a contentious issue.
While it may be able to keep users safe, some users find its activities a violation of their privacy.
You can however turn off the location sharing on the device or even choose to spoof the Life360 location to get a bit of privacy when you want to and then revert back to sharing your location when the situation calls to.
Mako is a technical freelance writer with a passion for all things tech. Whether you're wondering about how to fix your iPhone or trying to get something to work in your settings, Mako is your go-to for professional help. He loves writing, testing solutions, and most of all, making sure his research is factually accurate.