Life360 is the ultimate family location sharing app. It aims to provide its users peace of mind by tracking the precise, real-time location of family members.
Although it does a great job this way, there are times when you would still want some privacy.
What happens when your phone is off? Does Life360 still track your location? Are there ways that I can go invisible while still using my phone?
Read on to learn more.
Once you turn off your phone, the app is turned off as well. Your family and friends will only be able to see your last known location.
They will also get notified that your location is turned off, no network, or that your cell phone is turned off.
Life360's premium members can store location data for up to thirty days, while free members can have two days.
Turning your phone off means that built-in location services such as GPS are also off.
They will not be able to track your current location unless your phone is turned back on.
A quick way to know if someone has turned off their phone is by calling them.
If you're redirected to voicemail or encounter a busy dial tone, then their phone is likely turned off or the battery has died.
But you can also know their status through the Life360 app.
When you open the app, you'll see your Circle or private group on your home screen.
Swiping down on your screen, you'll see the members of your Circle. A status will be displayed under their names depending on their current location.
If they're on your Geofence locations or specific locations that you have set up, it will be displayed there as well.
You can also see if someone has their location services disabled, or if their phone is turned off.
If you have your location on, the Life360 app will also display your phone's battery percentage under the profile icon.
So if someone in your Circle is low on battery, you can all be notified.
Putting your phone on Airplane mode instantly turns off your phone's wireless systems, such as GPS and Wi-Fi.
In this way, you won't be able to connect to the Life360 app and your location won't be displayed to other Circle members.
Even if you're still logged in to the Life360 app, your location won't be seen by other members if your GPS tracking services are turned off.
This is a quick way to hide your location while still being online.
This is also applicable to other social media apps that track your location. Try turning off location services for both individual apps and on your phone's settings.
When logged in, you can be contacted by your Circle members. Even if you hide your location, they will still see that you're online and connected to the Life360 app.
By not logging in, you're deemed invisible and won't be bothered by notifications from the app itself.
A phone with a dead battery is similar to turning off your phone. Although you can't use your phone, you'll be logged out from the app and your current location won't be tracked in any way.
Though it's important to take note that your last known location will still be recorded by the app.
For the Life360 app to accurately track your location, both Wi-Fi and GPS services should be turned on.
If your phone has a poor network connection, however, it will not give out precise location data. This also means that the app will not track your location in real-time.
If this happens, members of your circle will just be able to see your last known location or no location at all, similar to turning off your phone's location features.
Switching your phone off for a long time just to stop Life360 from tracking you is not a practical option, but when it's on, the Life360 app will keep tracking your device's location and battery.
So, how can you stop being tracked while your phone is active?
One of the available solutions for this is by using MockGo iPhone location changer.
It is a location spoofing software that can mask your current location by changing it to a different area.
This way, you'll remain active on the app while hiding your real location.
MockGo is compatible with the latest iOS 16. It also works well with Windows 7 OS or higher and macOS 10.10 or later. Here are the steps on installing and using MockGo:
Step 1. Download and install MockGo on your phone or computer.
Step 2. Once it's done, you can connect your device and its current location will be scanned.
Step 3. Change your location by clicking the Teleport icon located at the upper right corner of the map.
Step 4. Select the place you would like to go to or input the address to the search bar, and click the Search button.
Step 5. The location's coordinates will be displayed. When you're ready, click Move Here, and you'll be teleported to the location you specified.
You can also choose between a two-spot route and a multi-stop route for multiple places to simulate a movement.
Pick a mode of transport between cycling, walking, or driving. The app will simulate the speed of these movements. Then click Move Here.
After going through these steps, your device should be moving according to the planned routes.
Life360 is a great app overall for family location tracking. It gives an assurance that everyone in your family or personal Circle is safe.
It does this by tracking their real-time location to confirm where they're headed, along with details such as battery percentage.
But privacy is important in an individual's lifestyle, and having someone to keep an eye on your phone's location data the whole day can feel invasive.
By considering these tips, you'll be able to use your phone freely without anyone stalking your routes.