This article will talk about what Screen Time is, what happens after 10 failed Screen Time passcode attempts, and how you can bypass it in case it's forgotten.
Let's get started.
Screen Time is a built-in feature that is available on all Apple devices running iOS 12, iOS 13, iOS 14, and iOS 15. It provides valuable insights into your child's app and website usage, allowing you to monitor their screen time. You can also use it to control access to certain apps and features, filter explicit content, and prevent your child from making unauthorized purchases or downloads on their device.
If you enter the wrong screen time passcode on your iPhone or iPad 10 times, you'll be locked out of the feature for an hour. During this time, you won't be able to reset screen time or data usage settings, but your device won't be completely locked. The time limit increases with each wrong attempt:
For every failed attempt, the interval for the succeeding ones will be longer than the previous. After the restriction period is over, you can use the correct passcode to access the screen time feature again. If you have tried more than 10 attempts, it will only let you try again in 60 minutes.
Can't seem to get the passcode right? You can try the following methods to reset your screen time passcode. Let's get started.
Unlockit iPhone is the finest solution for you if you want to bypass the screen time passcode on iPhone with ease. The best part is that no data will be lost in the process. And it is compatible with all common iPhone models and iOS versions.
Here are the steps on how to use it:
Step 1. First, download and install the Unlockit onto your computer.
Step 2. Connect your iPhone to the computer via USB cable.
Step 3. Open your iPhone, head to Settings and turn the Find My iPhone feature off.
Step 4. Next, launch the application and select Remove Screen Time Passcode.
Step 5. After that, tap on Start from Unlockit.
After doing the steps, a message will appear on your computer notifying you when the process is complete. At this point, the Screen Time passcode will be erased.
You can also reset your Screen Time Passcode by restoring factory settings on your phone.
This, however, might require you to backup all your data and files since everything is going to be deleted in the process.
It is important to backup through iTunes since you will be reverting to that back-up in this method.
Here is what you need to do:
After the process is completed, the screen time passcode should be reset and you should be able to access the applications without limit.
You will be able to create a new passcode, as well. If you decide to create a new passcode, write it down somewhere safe so you can access it whenever you need to.
If you do not wish to purchase a third-party app, you can try to use your Apple ID to reset the passcode. All you need to do is to follow these simple steps:
After entering your Apple ID, the Screen Time passcode should now be changed or turned off depending on the option that you chose.
No. Because your device won't be completely locked, your data is safe. But you will not be able to access the restricted apps, data usage settings or reset the screen time.
To remove the Screen Time passcode and continue using the feature without entering a passcode, follow these simple steps:
The passcode will now be removed.
It is a pain to forget passcodes, no matter what the situation is. Luckily, you can still recover your Screen Time passcode in a number of ways.
One is by restoring a backup file on iTunes. Another is using your Apple ID to reset the passcode through Settings.
Lastly, you can also use an external software such as Unlockit to bypass the Screen Time passcode and create a new one.
But the best will always be prevention, so it is always recommended to write down and manage your passcodes in a safe place that is easily accessible to you.
If you have any questions or queries about Screen Time passcodes, feel free to comment down below.