If you wanted to disable cellular, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth functions on your iPhone, you would enable Airplane mode.
But you may also know that you can still re-enable Wi-Fi even if Airplane Mode is turned on.
So, what does that mean for an App that relies on Wi-Fi and location services like Life360? Does enabling Airplane mode automatically turn off Life360?
In this article, we will help you find out what happens to the function of Life360 when you enable Airplane Mode.
Let’s start by first understanding the primary function of Airplane Mode.
What Does Airplane Mode Do?
In every device, whether iOS or Android, turning on Airplane mode will disable the same hardware functions on the device, including the following:
Cellular: Once Airplane Mode is enabled, your device will no longer be able to communicate with cell towers.
This means that you will not be able to do anything on the device that requires cellular data, including voice calls, text messages, and mobile data.
Wi-Fi: Your device will also stop scanning for Wi-Fi networks that may be around you and if your device is already connected to a Wi-Fi network, turning on Airplane mode will disconnect the device from this network.
Bluetooth: Enabling Airplane mode on your device will also disable Bluetooth functions, meaning that you will not be able to connect any of your Bluetooth devices to the device.
If any devices are already connected to the device, they will be disconnected.
GPS: Airplane mode will also disable GPS functions on your device, but this is only true for some devices.
If turning on Airplane mode on your device disables GPS on your device, you may find it hard to use apps and services that require GPS function like Life360.
Will Airplane Mode Turn Off Life360?
When your iOS device is in Airplane mode, the Wi-Fi and GPS are turned off. This typically means that your inner circle members will not be able to see your location.
If all members of the circle do not want to share their location for a specified period, you can ask all of them to put their iPhone in airplane mode and you’ll see that Life360 will stop updating their location as well.
The biggest problem with using Airplane mode as a way to limit the function of Life360 is that you will limit other functions on your device as well, including Cellular and Bluetooth.
Wait, Will Shutting Down iPhone Turn off Life360 As Well?
You might also limit the functionality of the Life360 app by simply turning off the device.
Once your iPhone is off, Life360 is also turned off, meaning that your circle will not be able to see your current location.
But the members of your circle will still be able to see your last known location.
Life360 will store location history for up to 30 days for premium members and 2 days for free members.
This is why circle members are able to see your last known location even after the device is turned off.
But Life360 will be unable to track your current location because by turning off the device, you will also disable the device’s GPS function and the app heavily relies on GPS data to get your actual location.
How to Turn Off Life360 Location on iPhone without Notifying
If you don’t want to turn off your device or even enable Airplane mode, the next best option for you is to change the location on your device.
By spoofing your location, you can trick Life360 into sharing this fake location with members of your circle while hiding your actual location.
To adequately fake the location on your iOS device, you will require a tool that specializes in location spoofing without jailbreaking your iPhone.
The best tool for this task is MockGo and since it is a desktop tool, you only need to connect the iPhone to the computer to change the location to anywhere in the world.
It is a simple tool: with a simple user interface and the ability to teleport your iOS device to anywhere in the world. Here’s how to use it:
Step 1: Download and Install MockGo and install it on your PC/Mac. Once it is installed, open it and then click on the “Start” button on the main screen.
Step 2: Now, connect the iPhone to the computer using a lightning cable and wait for the program to detect the connected device.
Step 3: You should then see a map on the screen indicating the current location of the device. To change the location of the device, select the “Teleport Mode” (the first icon in the top-right corner).
You can then select the new location that you would like to use by entering the location in the search box on the left. Then, you may use the map to refine the location as much as possible.
Step 4: Then click on “Move Here” and you will see the new location appear in Life360 immediately. This is the new location that the app will share with the members of your circle.
There are a lot of things that you could do to prevent Life360 from sharing your current location. Enabling Airplane mode on your device is just one of them.
But the problem with airplane mode is, it will also affect other functions such as cellular activity, which you may need.
Your best bet if you don’t want members of your circle to know where you are is to change the GPS location on your iOS device using a tool like MockGo.
You can do so temporarily anytime you want and then simply restart your iPhone to go back to sharing your location.