How To Turn Off iPhone Location Without Other Person Knowing

  1. Published on Oct 21, 2021
  2. Updated on Oct 20, 2021
  3. No Comments

If you are an iPhone user, then you’re likely familiar with the location sharing feature that allows your friends and family to easily locate your device. This can be useful in a number of situations such as when you lose your phone.

However, along with this advancement in technology comes concerns about our privacy and safety. If you’re looking for ways to stop sharing your location without the people involved knowing about it, then you’ve come to the right place.

In this article, we’ve listed some ways to do this in great detail. Without further ado, let’s get started.

Can You Stop Sharing Location Without People Knowing?

Yes, you can. In fact, there are multiple ways to stop sharing your phone’s location with others. All you need to do is to push the right buttons.

By doing any of the methods listed below, the location sharing feature will be disabled and people won’t be able to track you in real time. The best part is they won’t be notified about it.

Now, with that out of the way, here are some of the ways to hide your phone’s location without people knowing.

Best Way: Apply an iOS GPS Spoofer to Fake Location

GPS Spoofers are software that enable you to change your phone’s location without actually moving at all. This allows you to manipulate and hide your device’s real location.

For iPhone users, MockGo is one proven software for your GPS spoofing needs. This tool allows you to change your phone’s location while staying within the comfort of your own home.

It is widely used for location-based games such as Pokémon GO and is very convenient as it doesn’t require any jailbreaking.

Follow these steps to hide your location using MockGo:

Step 1. First up, look for the download button and install the software. After installing, run the program and connect your iPhone to your computer.

center on

Step 2. After connecting your iPhone, click Start on the main screen to see your device’s current location on the map.

Launch MockGo on your computer

Step 3. Next, teleport to a different location by activating Teleport mode. The clickable icon should be located on the upper-right corner of the screen.

choose teleport mode

Step 4. After that, enter the address of the place you want to go to on the search bar and click Go.

 search for a location

Step 5. From there, you will be directed to the desired location. Make sure that it is your intended location.

click Move Here to teleport the GPS

Step 6. Finally, click Move Here  to teleport your device’s location to your intended coordinates.

location teleported

Once you’ve done all these steps, the new coordinates will remain the same until you restart your device or use the software to reset your location once again. Always remember to check the map to verify the set and current location.

Turn Airplane mode On from iPhone

The easiest and most well-known way to hide your location is to simply turn Airplane Mode on.

As long as this feature is switched on, all connections to your phone will be cut off. These include your Wi-Fi, cellular data, and yes, your location. 

The process is pretty simple, just follow these steps:

  1. First up, open the Control Center by swiping upwards from the bottom-most part of your screen.
  2. Then, tap the airplane icon found in the menu, usually found at the upper left corner. Simple as that.

Turn Airplane mode On

A longer route is to turn on Airplane Mode through the Settings app on your phone. It is usually one of the first options you see when you open the app and all you have to do is to toggle the button on the right.

While your iPhone is on Airplane Mode, your device will show its last known location as its current location.

The downside is you won’t be able to make any calls or send any texts while this feature is enabled. You can access Wi-Fi hotspots while on Airplane Mode, but doing so would reveal your location.

Share Location using Another iPhone or iPad

Setting up a dummy device as a decoy is another way to hide your location without others knowing. This method allows you to go to other places freely while your device’s location will stay put, as if you haven’t moved an inch.

The downside is that you will need access to an alternate iPhone. So if you don’t have any other available, then skip this part and try the other methods instead.

Here are the steps on how to share your location with another device:

  1. Before doing anything, make sure that both iOS devices have the same iOS account logged into them.
  2. After that, open the Settings app on your alternate device.
  3. Next, tap on your name which can be found at the top portion of your screen.
  4. Then, tap on Find My.
  5. Finally, select ‘Use This iPhone as My Location’.

Use This iPhone as My Location

Once done, you can then leave your alternate device at home and you will be free to go anywhere you want. If anyone is attempting to track you, they will only be shown that device’s location.

However, re-enabling the feature may notify others to this change, so you might want to take that into consideration before doing this method.

Stop Sharing Your iPhone Location from Find My App

The ‘Share My Location’ feature that was used in the previous method can also be tinkered with through this next one. You can go for a simpler approach through your main device and turn off the “Share My Location” option.

This will completely hide your iPhone’s location, leaving your family members clueless.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. First, open the Settings app.
  2. Next, tap on your name which can be found at the top portion of your screen.
  3. Then, tap on Find My.
  4. Finally, simply turn off ‘Share My Location’.

turn off ‘Share My Location’

With the ‘Share My Location’ option on, the family members that you have set on your phone will be able to pinpoint where you are. On the other hand, if turned off, it will make your device invisible to them.

Turn Off Your iPhone to Hide Location Completely

The most foolproof method is sometimes the simplest. In times when you want your device’s location to be completely invisible, simply turn it off.  

However, you need to know about the difference between locking and completely turning your phone off.

Locking is done by simply pressing the sleep/wake button. It will only turn the screen off and put it on sleep mode. During this time, your device can still be detected as connections are still running.

Turning it off, on the other hand, will completely shut down all your phone’s functions and connections. This way, your phone cannot be tracked, hiding your current location and where you might want to go.

To do this, press and hold the sleep button on the side of your screen for a few seconds, then drag the slider when it appears. Your sleep button’s location may depend on your phone’s model.

Turn Off Your iPhone

Conclusion

Sharing your location with your friends and family can be necessary for them to know where to find you if they need you, and vice versa.

But there will always be times when you want to be alone or don’t want them to know where you are, like if you’re planning them a surprise. This is where hiding your location without them knowing comes into play.

There are many ways to do it, including turning Airplane Mode on, sharing the location of an alternate device, turning your phone off, among others.

You can even go further by using an external software such as MockGo to change your location as you please.

If you have concerns about any of them, feel free to hit us up at the comment section below.

J. Robertson Macaulay D. Young

Mako is a technical freelance writer with a passion for all things tech. Whether you're wondering about how to fix your iPhone or trying to get something to work in your settings, Mako is your go-to for professional help. He loves writing, testing solutions, and most of all, making sure his research is factually accurate.
View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *